Recipe: Sweet potato brownies

Hello again! After indulging over the Christmas/New Year period, I was looking for some yummy treats that were a little kinder to the waist line. Some days I love to just trawl through blogs and websites looking for yummy things to cook. You might recall I posted recently about a Superfood Bread that I found at Deliciously Ella, and there was a second recipe there that I was keen to try: Sweet Potato Brownies. I’ve tried beetroot chocolate cake before, and it was pretty good, so I was keen to see what sweet potato brownies would be like. Let’s just say you won’t be disappointed, and everyone who I have shared them with are stunned to hear that they are 50% sweet potato! It gives them a subtle sweetness and results in a fudge like slice, with the taste of a brownie.

Sweet potato brownie

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium to large sweet potatoes (600g)
  • 2/3 of a cup of ground almonds (80g)
  • 1/2 a cup of buckwheat or brown rice flour (100g)
  • 14 medjool dates
  • 4 tablespoons of raw cacao
  • 3 tablespoons of pure maple syrup
  • a pinch of salt

Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180C, then peel the sweet potatoes. Cut them into chunks and place into a steamer for about twenty minutes, until they become really soft.
  2. Once they are perfectly soft and beginning to fall apart remove them and add them to a food processor with the pitted dates, blitzing until a smooth mixture.
  3. Put the remaining ingredients into a bowl, before mixing in the sweet potato date combination. Stir well.
  4. Place into a lined baking dish and cook for about twenty minutes, until you can pierce the brownie cake with a fork bringing it out dry.
  5. Remove the tray and allow it to cool for about ten minutes – this is really important as it needs this time to stick together!
  6. Remove the brownies from the tray, leaving it another few minutes before cutting them into squares – then dig in and enjoy!
20160110_191827

My finished product!

I prefer to eat these cold, so once they were done I put them straight into the fridge. I found the texture and flavour seemed more fudge brownie like when cold. Hubby has really enjoyed eating them with a scoop of ice cream too! The third batch I made (these have been very popular, I’ve made them a lot this past month!) I cut up and put into a freezer container and froze. I take one or two pieces with me to work and they defrost beautifully, so a great option to make and store for kids lunches!

Now while these are called brownies, they are not like your regular cake type brownies. They really are a soft, fudge type slice – I think that’s the best way to describe them. When eaten cold, I really can’t even taste the sweet potato, although I did notice the flavour more when at room temperature – try both ways and see what you prefer best! It’s also good to know that if you stick to the recipe as above, they’re gluten free!

Give them a go, trust me, they’ll become a new favourite!!

One thought on “Recipe: Sweet potato brownies

Leave a Reply

