Recipe: Superfood bread

I love to eat avo on toast for breakfast, and usually sour dough is my go-to bread. I’ve been wanting something a bit different though, that might fill me up a little bit more and push me through that 9.30am hunger pang so I can wait until 10.30am for morning tea (otherwise lunch ends up being 11.30am and everything comes forward as I’m hungry!!).

I recently stumbled across a blog called Deliciously Ella by a lady living in London and sharing delicious, healthy recipes that she concocts after finding a way to deal with a debilitating illness. One of these recipes, the Superfood Bread, sounded amazing and like it might be just the answer to what I was looking for. I’d also always been hesitant to make bread, as the whole yeast thing and getting it to rise always terrified me! When I saw the simple ingredients that this one used I knew I just had to try it!

IMG_8108-460x413

Ingredients for one loaf:

  • 2 cups of cold water
  • 1 and a 1/2 cups of pumpkin seeds
  • 1 cup of buckwheat or brown rice flour
  • 1 cup of almonds
  • 1/2 a cup of sunflower seeds
  • 3 heaped tablespoons of psyllium husk powder
  • 2 tablespoons of chia seeds
  • 2 tablespoons of dried mixed herbs
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Place the almonds and one cup of the pumpkin seeds in a food processor and blend for a couple of minutes until a smooth flour forms.
  2. Transfer this flour into a bowl and stir in the remaining half a cup of pumpkin seeds plus the buckwheat flour, sunflower seeds, chia seeds, psyllium husks, dried herbs and salt. Stir the mix well before gradually pouring in the water.
  3. Let the mixture sit for an hour or so to let it fully absorb all the water and firm up. During which time you can heat the oven to 180C.
  4. Once the mix is nice and firm (really firm, it can’t even be a tiny bit runny – if it is then add another spoon of psyillium) grease the base of a loaf tin with coconut or olive oil, pour the mix in and firmly press it down with a spoon or spatula.
  5. Place the bread in the oven and bake for forty minutes to an hour, until the top begins to brown and you can pull a knife out of the middle without any mix sticking to it.

I mucked up a little early on, as you’re meant to grind 1 cup of pumpkin seeds to a flour and save the other 1/2 cup to add whole to the mix. I ended up grinding the whole lot, but luckily it didn’t make much difference, I just have slightly less whole seeds! Also, I had the almonds set aside for this and then later found Hubby had gone and made a trail mix up and used them all! Luckily I had some almond meal, so I used this instead and it still worked out fine.

I followed Ella’s instructions to the tee and was so pleased with how it worked out! I let it sit for a bit over an hour, and baked it for a full hour (to get the right amount of brown over the top). I might ease up a little on the mixed herbs as it’s a little strong for my liking, but I think the pictures speak for themselves!

I sliced it up and have put it in the freezer, toasting one slice at a time as I need it. This will help it to keep longer – particularly if you don’t eat it every day. I’ve topped it with avocado, and am going to try some with a fried egg and the verdict is: delicious!! And even better – I don’t even need morning tea, I make it through to lunch time! Why not give it a go??

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Superfood bread

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Sweet potato brownies | Mrs Lardeedah

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Sweet potato brownies | Mrs Lardeedah

Leave a Reply

